How many milestones have you missed?

Yes I’ve missed milestones too. Sometimes my focus on my work overshadows what is most important to me, my children and their happiness. I’m sure it happens to you too. Running my own business though does give me more flexibility to be there for the important milestones. Sometimes that can seem harder if you an employed working parent. Did you read about Mohamed El-Erian? Another time, I’ll talk about the research and writings of Dr Margot Sunderland, but for now here’s a round-up of useful resources, articles and blogs for busy working parents so that you don’t miss those important milestones.

  • The Parent Practice offers practical solutions to parenting issues. Their blogs and postings on Facebook are always so helpful. I recently met the two directors too, and I know that they really do want the best for all parents.
  • If you are a Mum in business, then you might enjoy Morena Russell’s website – her blog aims to give financial management advice to mums in business. She has some great practical suggestions.
  • Working Families is a charity that helps working parents and carers and their employers find a better balance between responsibilities at home and work. Lots of useful advice on flexible working solutions.  Or try Family Lives, a charity that helps parents to deal with the changes that are a constant part of family life.
  • The Beez Kneez is run by Vicky Warr, and I’ve heard on the grapevine that she’s setting an online membership programme which sounds like great fun. Vicky is a fitness trainer who works specifically with Mums to be, New Mums and Mums. I know I could have done with her help postnatally.
  • If you are a single Mum, I came across this fabulous Single Mum’s Survival Guide.
  • Dr Margot Sunderland – I love her work. Please do read something she’s written especially What Every Parent Needs to Know. You don’t have to be the perfect parent. Good enough is good enough, and you only need to be good enough some of the time.
  • An article from last year in The Guardian – working mums don’t have to carry the guilt. (Look out soon for my Working Mum’s Guide to Ditching The Guilt launching in October – sign up to be on my priority list to buy at the discounted launch price).

Check out these blogs, books and websites and let me know which other resources you would add to the list.

None of us want to miss important milestones in our children’s lives. None of us wants to be reminded by our children of what we’ve missed, like Mohamed El-Erian. So do something PRACTICAL today.

 

 

2 thoughts on “How many milestones have you missed?

  1. Another great roundup of blogs and websites, Shelly. I love this one and am bookmarking it. I’m sure many of these will come in handy for me over the years. I’ve got a terror tot in the house at times!

    Like

Leave a Reply

